Novena to The Holy Family

Start everyday with this preparatory prayer

Praised, honored, and blessed be the most holy and the sweetest Names of Jesus, Mary and Joseph, now and forever. Amen.

Most sweet Jesus, who came down upon earth to redeem and teach us the way of virtue and sanctity by your heavenly doctrine and admirable example, we now come to you to learn how to form our families in that most perfect mold of families, the Holy Family, which you, with your Immaculate Mother Mary and your foster-father, Saint Joseph, constituted in Nazareth. Permit us, then, to enter in spirit into the sanctuary of your holy home and learn to draw, with the assistance of your grace, light and strength to know and to practice in our homes, the lofty virtues which shone forth in the venerable trinity which you formed on earth.

We come here in this novena to ask you this special grace (mention petition/s here).

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, reign in the bosom of our families. Guard them as your very own from the snares of the enemy for the greater glory and service of God and the good of our souls. Amen.

First day

Jesus, our divine Redeemer, imprint upon our hearts your precious and salutary maxim: “Seek first the Kingdom of God and his justice and all the rest shall be added unto you.” Grant us the grace to know how to form the conduct of our life in accordance with this counsel.
Most sweet Mother, Mary and most bountiful protector, Saint Joseph, support our petitions and resolutions. Help us to acquire cleanness of heart and purity of manners that we and our families may be disposed to receive the heavenly blessings, the sure and only guarantee of peace and well-being, now and forever. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Second day

Oh, adorable Savior Jesus, do not permit the evil of discord to disturb the peace of our hearts and homes. You know, dear Jesus, how the enemy of souls makes use of rash judgment, calumny and murmuring and continually strives by means of them to arouse in us the passions of hatred, anger and revenge. Give us then the spirit of love and prudence which animated St. Joseph, and the profound humility and unshakeable confidence which supported your most blessed Mother.
Holy Joseph and you, Mother Mary, through the joy which you experienced after the Angel had announced his message, teach us how to discharge our duties that every day we may gather from the difficulties and troubles of our life merits that will obtain for us eternal happiness. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Third day

Oh most sweet Jesus, our hearts are most miserable, poorer, and more unworthy than the crib of Bethlehem. But mindful of the love which moved you to exchange your heavenly throne for that lowly manger, we come to you because you desire to seek those that are lost and to heal the sick.
St. Joseph and you, O Blessed Mary ever Virgin, take our cause into your hands and obtain for us the graces we ask of your dear Child and foster-son Jesus.
Grant that we may always be good example to one another, and by doing so, may we give glory to God. In return may we receive that peace and happiness which the angels in the name of the Most High promised to men of good will. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Fourth day

Oh Mary, you experienced joy at the words which fell from Simeon’s lips Bepredicting the wonders and the sufferings of your beloved Son Jesus. Intercede for us, O most loving Mother Mary and you our protector Saint Joseph, that we may obtain the grace we ask for in this novena. Pray for us that in our sacrifices we may learn to imitate the generosity with which you offered the Divine Infant in the Temple of Jerusalem.
All the goods we have, we have from God. To him we now dedicate these gifts, offering them with all the tenderness and love of our hearts, and hoping in return a hundred fold in spiritual blessings, and especially at the end of our life, the enjoyment of eternal glory. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Fifth day

Most amiable Jesus, by your flight into Egypt you taught us how much the practice of virtue, when accompanied by perfect love, lightens the sufferings of life. Grant that we may learn how to bear with patience the adversities which God may send us for the good of our souls in this valley of tears. O most loving Mother of Jesus and you, good and most patient Saint Joseph, by your powerful intercession, obtain for us the grace to imitate you in your holy zeal and solicitude in keeping the grace of God always in your souls. Help us to face every peril and may we lose and suffer everything rather than place our souls or the souls of those entrusted to our care in the danger or the occasion of sin.
Help us to remain always in the company of Jesus. And thus accompanied by him through life, we may pass with him over the threshold of eternal joy and glory. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Sixth day

O most humble Jesus, help us to love work which you, your most blessed Mother and your most holy foster-father, sanctified. Help us flee idleness which is the mother of all vices, and banish it from the bosom of our families. Teach us, Most Holy Virgin and you glorious Patriarch, St. Joseph, to combine work with the mysteries of our holy religion.
Let our conversation be holy, our customs pious; let devotion and prayer, the breathing of the soul in God, be our activity; in order that we may know how to live in communion with heaven, whose blessings change thorns into flowers, work into rest, bitterness into sweetness, tears into joy; poverty into wealth. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Seventh day

We beseech you, good Jesus, give us the spirit of humility and holy meekness with which subjects ought to respect, love and revere their superiors; and with that wise prudence and holy zeal and perfect charity with which superiors ought to temper, regulate and exercise their authority. O most amiable Mary and Joseph, intercede in our favor that we may be able to receive the graces which we ask.
With their help we will live more holy and that filled with merits we may one day be admitted into your company in heaven. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Eighth day

O most amiable Jesus, attracted by your example of obedience, meekness and simplicity which you have given us in the holy house of Nazareth, we desire to follow you. May our progress in Christ’s perfection correspond to our way of life. O Infinite Good, do not deny us your grace. Give us an increase of love for your heavenly Father that we may live upright lives and edify our neighbor.
O most sweet Mother Mary and most Holy Protector, Saint Joseph dwell in our hearts. May our hearts like the house of Nazareth, be a dwelling where grace and sanctity reside so that we may one day be transported by his Angels from earth to heaven.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

Ninth day

O Lord, abandon us not for one moment of our life. Help us always in your goodness and mercy. Enlighten us in our ignorance. O most sweet Mother of Jesus and our Mother, O most kind Father and our intercessor, as a crown of the graces you have procured for us from Jesus during this novena, obtain for us and for all the members of our families the grace of graces, the gift of gifts—final perseverance, by which we may all be united to your most sweet company and sing the divine praises forever and ever. Amen.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, protect me night and day.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
(1) Our Father, (1) Hail Mary, (1) Glory Be

 

 

For more novena prayers, click here.

Leave a Reply

